President's Update - November 7th

The 2016-17 season began Friday evening in Lumsden. We had full rosters and we had a very entertaining game to begin the season. There was no scoring in the first ten minutes and then Cupar got into a little penalty trouble and the Monarchs scored three power play goals. Liam Brennan scored twice and Torrey Lindsey scored the other goal. Lumsden led 3-0 after one period and outshot the Canucks 15-5 in the first period. In the second period the play got a little tighter and there were few shots in the first 10 minutes. Travis Orr would score on the power play 14 minutes into the period and then Taylor Orr would steal the puck and score two minutes later and it was 3-2 after two periods. Shots were 27-15 for the Monarchs after two periods. In the third period the Canucks wasted no time making the game 3-3 when Cody Hall scored on the power play. The game went 17 minutes until the Monarchs sciored with just over a minute left off the stick of Dale Spelchen. Tyler Penny would score the final goal and Lumsden would win 5-3. Both goalies played well with Matt Weninger picking up the win for the Monarchs stopping 22 of 25 shots and Colby Miller who stopped 32 of 37 shots fired his way. Lumsden had eight minor penalties and Cupar had five. Each team had a game misconduct.

This weekend everyone else gets into the fray with Avonlea opening up in Strasbourg and Cupar in Wynyard on Friday evening. Our defending champions, and Provincial 'A' champions, Bethune Bulldogs open up at home Saturday evening against the Wynyard Monarchs. The Raymore Rockets will be in Avonlea and the Lumsden Monarchs will be in Cupar to play the Canucks.

We have a limited run of pocket schedules that should be available this weekend. Please get out to a game near you.

You can follow us on twitter All of our tweets, which include updates from all games, appear on the front page just under the Upcoming games column if you just want to follow us on the website during games. You can also follow my account Pensky File


Bethune Bulldogs 2016 Provincial 'A' Champions!

Bethune Bulldogs Provincial 'A' Champions

Congratulations Bethune Bulldogs Provincial 'A' Champions...The Bethune Bulldogs defeated the Rosetown Redwings 3-2 in double overtime on Thursday evening to claim the SHA Provincial 'A' title. Ryan Lang scored early in the first period and then late in the first period Rosetown scored on a 5 on 3 and then scored even strength making it 2-1 after one period. Jacob Ulmer scored in the second period to tie the game 2-2 and that is what the score was going into the third period. The Bulldogs led the shot clock 27-21. There was no scoring in the third period and no scoring in the first overtime period. Going into the second overtime period the Bulldogs had outshot the Redwings 50-30. 2:18 into the second overtime period Mike Reich would pot the winner and the Bulldogs finally had that elusive Provincial title. What a remarkable run Bethune had this year...15-1-2 in League play....6-0-0 in League playoffs and 10-1-0 in Provincial play. That would be 31-2-2 for the year. Even more amazing is after losing their first provincial game against Watrous, a game they had the lead with only a few minutes left on the is as if this one game sparked the Bulldogs to what they had to do to win...After that loss, the Bethune Bulldogs proceeded to win 16 games straight in Provincials and League playoffs on their way to a League title and Provincial title. Three of those wins were in overtime.

The 2016 Bethune Bulldogs join the 1987 Dysart Blues, the 2004 Southey Marlins, the 2013 Cupar Canucks and the 2014 Wynyard Monarchs as the only HHL teams to win both league and a Provincial 'A' title. Along with the Raymore Rockets who won League and the Provincial "C" title in 1980, 1988 and 1997, the Cupar Canucks who won League and the Provincial 'AAA' title in 1995 and the Avonlea Arrows who won League and the Provincial 'D' title in 2005 these are the ten teams that have won both League and a Provincial title in the same year in our fifty year history. There have been many other teams that have been close but these are the teams that did it.

We now look forward to our 51st season...a final update with year end pictures and a few kudos will be forthcoming. Thank you to all that support senior hockey in Saskatchewan and thank you for supporting the Highway Hockey League.


Bethune Bulldogs Highway Hockey League 2015-15 Champions!

Bethune Bulldogs 2


Bethune Bulldogs 2015 - 16 Highway Hockey League Champions

Bethune Bulldogs win Highway Hockey League Championship two years in a row…the Bethune Bulldogs defeated the Lumsden Monarchs 12-6 in Lumsden on Monday evening and then 8-1 on Tuesday evening in Bethune to claim the Robert Schultz Cup for the second year in a row. 

On Monday evening in Lumsden, All Star awards were presented to Left Wing Kyle Johnson, Defenceman Andrew Perrault and Coach Darrell Haysom prior to the game start. Bethune held a 5-3 lead after one period in this game and 7-3 after the second period before scoring five goals in the third period. Mike Reich scored four times including a power play goal and had one assist to lead the way for the Bulldogs. Drew George had a hat trick that included both a power play goal and a shorthanded goal. Joel Kot also had a hat trick which included two power play goals. Lucas Ulmer scored a power play goal and Kyle Ross also scored for the Bulldogs. Carter Selinger scored twice including a power play tally to lead the Monarchs. Brodie Schuette scored a shorthanded goal and the rest of the Monarch’s scoring came from Andrew Perrault, Kyle Johnson and Brady Aulie. Ryan Senft picked up the win in net for the Bulldogs and Kurtis Sollosy and Jackson Latrace were in net for the Monarchs.


Subscribe to RSS - blogs