President's Update - March 21st, 2016

Bethune and Lumsden meet in League Final.....For the first time ever the Bethune Bulldogs and the Lumsden Monarchs are meeting in the league final. Since Bethune came back to our League in 2000 these two teams have not met in any playoff series. The Monarchs got into the final with a 3-1 victory in Raymore on March 15th. In that game all of the scoring was in the second period. Austin Preete scored a shorthanded goal, Ryan Herman scored a power play goal and Carter Selinger scored the winner. Cody Mapes scored the Rockets goal on a power play.  Kurtis Sollosy picked up the win in net for the Monarchs and Travis Bosch was in net for the Rockets.  The Monarchs won this series three games to two. Game one of the League final was on Thursday, March 17th in Bethune. The Bulldogs had a 5-2 lead going into the third period and proceeded to score six more goals in an 11-4 victory. Drew George had a shorthanded goal, a power play goal and an even strength goal to lead the way for the Bulldogs. Shea Van Luven, Lucas Ulmer and Dustin MacAngus each had two goals. Kyle Ross and Jacob Ulmer also scored for Bethune.  Lumsden’s scoring came from Ward Szucki with two goals and Brady Aulie with two goals.  Each team was assessed seven minor penalties. Game two of this series is March 21st in Lumsden and game three is March 22nd in Bethune. If a fourth game is required it will be played on Sunday, March 27th at 7:00 p.m. in Lumsden. Going into game two of the final, Kyle Ross from Bethune leads all scorers with 6 goals and 11 assists and 17 points. Drew George from the Bulldogs is one point back with 16 points and Carter Selinger from the Monarchs is third with 14 points.

President's Update - March 14th, 2016

***League Final set...Bethune vs. Lumsden***       Highway Hockey League 2015-16 Award winners...Congratulations to Travis Bosch, goaltender with the Raymore Rockets, this year’s Most Valuable Player in the Highway Hockey League. Bosch is the first goalie to win the MVP award since Justin Mrazek from the Avonlea Arrows won in 2010. Bosch finished the year with 13 wins, 3 losses, one shut out and a 2.78 GAA. He also led the league in minutes played with 970 minutes. The Most Valuable Player Local, the Eckdahl-Jenkins Memorial Award, goes to Tyrell Shulko of the Raymore Rockets. Tyrell led the league with 27 goals. He finished fourth in scoring with 35 points and had his season cut short with injury in a Provincial game. The Stats-Van Trott Award for Rookie of the Year goes to Brayden Frank of the Cupar Canucks. Brayden had 5 goals and 7 assists for 12 points in 16 games played. The HHL Most Sportsmanlike Player Award goes to Tyrell Shulko of the Raymore Rockets. This is the eighth time the Rockets have an award winner in this category. Previously this award was won by Darren Miller in 1981; Murray Cranch in 1990, 1993 and 1995…always wanted a Murray Cranch hockey card; Travis Asmundson in 1997 and 1999 and by Brett Kuglin in 2010. The Ken Hale Memorial Award for Manager of the year goes to Howard Dobson of the Raymore Rockets. Howard would be our longest serving Manager in the HHL. The Rockets have had years of success in our league and last won the championship in 2011. The Lynwood Miller Coach of the Year award goes to Darrell Haysom of the Lumsden Monarchs.

President's Update - March 7th, 2016

Bethune Bulldogs on a mission…The Bulldog train keeps rolling down the track. The defending HHL champions and Provincial ‘A’ finalists from 2014-15 lost their first Provincial game in January to Watrous and since then have reeled off nine consecutive wins in Provincials and league playoffs. The Bulldogs started their HHL semi-finals with a 10-3 victory over the Wynyard Monarchs on March 1st in Bethune.  Drew George, Derek Fuchs, Mike Reich and Jake Ulmer each had two goals to lead the way in this game. Kyle Ross also scored and added four assists and Joel Kot also scored to complete the scoring for the Bulldogs. Cody Straker with two goals and Riley Storzuk with one goal scored for Wynyard.  Ryan Senft picked up the win in net for the Bulldogs and David Perkin was in the net for the Monarchs. The Bulldogs had seven minor penalties and the Monarchs had four. There were no power play goals in this game although one of Reich’s goals was scored shorthanded. On March 5th the teams met in Wynyard for game two of the series. Riley Storzuk and Brett Leffler gave the Monarchs a 2-0 lead after one period. An early second period shorthanded goal from Jake Ulmer got the Bulldogs on the board and that goal was answered quickly by Donovan Hall and the Monarchs were up by two goals. Derek Fuchs and Drew George would score late in the period and this game was tied 3-3 going into the third period.  The Bulldogs would score four times in third period with goals coming from Mike Reich, Russ Nielson, Troy Willfong and a second goal from drew George. Nielson also had four assists which gave him a five point night. Ryan Senft picked up the win in net for the Bulldogs and Kevin Orthner was in net for the Monarchs. Wynyard had seven minor penalties and Bethune had five.  The evening before the second game of this series the Bulldogs were in Radville to play game one of their Provincial ‘A’ semi-final and defeated the Nationals 8-5. Game two of this series will be played in Bethune on Friday, March 11th at 8:00 p.m.


Subscribe to RSS - blogs