Bethune Bulldogs 2016 Provincial 'A' Champions!

Bethune Bulldogs Provincial 'A' Champions

Congratulations Bethune Bulldogs Provincial 'A' Champions...The Bethune Bulldogs defeated the Rosetown Redwings 3-2 in double overtime on Thursday evening to claim the SHA Provincial 'A' title. Ryan Lang scored early in the first period and then late in the first period Rosetown scored on a 5 on 3 and then scored even strength making it 2-1 after one period. Jacob Ulmer scored in the second period to tie the game 2-2 and that is what the score was going into the third period. The Bulldogs led the shot clock 27-21. There was no scoring in the third period and no scoring in the first overtime period. Going into the second overtime period the Bulldogs had outshot the Redwings 50-30. 2:18 into the second overtime period Mike Reich would pot the winner and the Bulldogs finally had that elusive Provincial title. What a remarkable run Bethune had this year...15-1-2 in League play....6-0-0 in League playoffs and 10-1-0 in Provincial play. That would be 31-2-2 for the year. Even more amazing is after losing their first provincial game against Watrous, a game they had the lead with only a few minutes left on the is as if this one game sparked the Bulldogs to what they had to do to win...After that loss, the Bethune Bulldogs proceeded to win 16 games straight in Provincials and League playoffs on their way to a League title and Provincial title. Three of those wins were in overtime.

The 2016 Bethune Bulldogs join the 1987 Dysart Blues, the 2004 Southey Marlins, the 2013 Cupar Canucks and the 2014 Wynyard Monarchs as the only HHL teams to win both league and a Provincial 'A' title. Along with the Raymore Rockets who won League and the Provincial "C" title in 1980, 1988 and 1997, the Cupar Canucks who won League and the Provincial 'AAA' title in 1995 and the Avonlea Arrows who won League and the Provincial 'D' title in 2005 these are the ten teams that have won both League and a Provincial title in the same year in our fifty year history. There have been many other teams that have been close but these are the teams that did it.

We now look forward to our 51st season...a final update with year end pictures and a few kudos will be forthcoming. Thank you to all that support senior hockey in Saskatchewan and thank you for supporting the Highway Hockey League.


Bethune Bulldogs Highway Hockey League 2015-15 Champions!

Bethune Bulldogs 2


Bethune Bulldogs 2015 - 16 Highway Hockey League Champions

Bethune Bulldogs win Highway Hockey League Championship two years in a row…the Bethune Bulldogs defeated the Lumsden Monarchs 12-6 in Lumsden on Monday evening and then 8-1 on Tuesday evening in Bethune to claim the Robert Schultz Cup for the second year in a row. 

On Monday evening in Lumsden, All Star awards were presented to Left Wing Kyle Johnson, Defenceman Andrew Perrault and Coach Darrell Haysom prior to the game start. Bethune held a 5-3 lead after one period in this game and 7-3 after the second period before scoring five goals in the third period. Mike Reich scored four times including a power play goal and had one assist to lead the way for the Bulldogs. Drew George had a hat trick that included both a power play goal and a shorthanded goal. Joel Kot also had a hat trick which included two power play goals. Lucas Ulmer scored a power play goal and Kyle Ross also scored for the Bulldogs. Carter Selinger scored twice including a power play tally to lead the Monarchs. Brodie Schuette scored a shorthanded goal and the rest of the Monarch’s scoring came from Andrew Perrault, Kyle Johnson and Brady Aulie. Ryan Senft picked up the win in net for the Bulldogs and Kurtis Sollosy and Jackson Latrace were in net for the Monarchs.

President's Update - March 21st, 2016

Bethune and Lumsden meet in League Final.....For the first time ever the Bethune Bulldogs and the Lumsden Monarchs are meeting in the league final. Since Bethune came back to our League in 2000 these two teams have not met in any playoff series. The Monarchs got into the final with a 3-1 victory in Raymore on March 15th. In that game all of the scoring was in the second period. Austin Preete scored a shorthanded goal, Ryan Herman scored a power play goal and Carter Selinger scored the winner. Cody Mapes scored the Rockets goal on a power play.  Kurtis Sollosy picked up the win in net for the Monarchs and Travis Bosch was in net for the Rockets.  The Monarchs won this series three games to two. Game one of the League final was on Thursday, March 17th in Bethune. The Bulldogs had a 5-2 lead going into the third period and proceeded to score six more goals in an 11-4 victory. Drew George had a shorthanded goal, a power play goal and an even strength goal to lead the way for the Bulldogs. Shea Van Luven, Lucas Ulmer and Dustin MacAngus each had two goals. Kyle Ross and Jacob Ulmer also scored for Bethune.  Lumsden’s scoring came from Ward Szucki with two goals and Brady Aulie with two goals.  Each team was assessed seven minor penalties. Game two of this series is March 21st in Lumsden and game three is March 22nd in Bethune. If a fourth game is required it will be played on Sunday, March 27th at 7:00 p.m. in Lumsden. Going into game two of the final, Kyle Ross from Bethune leads all scorers with 6 goals and 11 assists and 17 points. Drew George from the Bulldogs is one point back with 16 points and Carter Selinger from the Monarchs is third with 14 points.


Subscribe to RSS - blogs