President's Update January 23rd, 2013

Tyson Sievert Memorial Game and Tribute - Cupar January 19th

(Click on image for large view.)

This weekend sees six Provincial games beginning on Thursday evening. There is a possibility of three more games, depending on earlier weekend results, and those would be played by Monday evening. On Thursday evening, the Bethune Bulldogs will be in Holdfast for game one of their two game total point Provincial ‘D’ series. On Friday evening, the Lumsden Monarchs will be in Arcola to play the Combines in game one of their best of three Provincial ‘A’ series beginning at 8:30 p.m. Also on Friday evening at 8:30 p.m., Southey hosts Langenburg in game one of their two game total point Provincial ‘C’ series.  On Saturday evening, Cupar will be in Nokomis for game two of their Provincial ‘A’ series. Cupar won the first game last Sunday 3-2. Also on Saturday evening, the Wynyard Monarchs play host to the Lanigan Pirates. The Pirates defeated the Monarchs 3-2 this past Monday in game one of their series. On Sunday evening at 7 p.m. in Strasbourg, the Maroons will play game two of their series with LeRoy. LeRoy won game one 5-2. If a third game is required it will be played on Monday in LeRoy at 8 p.m. If another game is required in the Nokomis/Cupar series it will be played Sunday in Cupar at 5 p.m. If another game is required in the Lanigan/Wynyard series it will be played on Sunday in Lanigan at 8 p.m.

President's Update/HHL Announcement - January 17th, 2013


It has been a busy week in hockey…..We had three one goal games on Saturday evening. In Bethune, for the second Saturday evening in a row, we went to overtime as Pat Thompson-Gale scored his third goal of the game in overtime to spark the Southey Marlins to their third win in four games 5-4 over the Bulldogs. One of Thompson-Gale’s goals came while shorthanded and he now leads the league with four shorties. Mike Vondoellan and Evan Mohr also scored for the Marlins and both goals came on the power play. Ryan Senft picked up the win in net for the Marlins. Bethune’s scoring came from Mike Reich with two goals….the second goal came on the power play and I still don’t know how he got over Senft’s shoulder. Brent Becker and Travis Holt also scored for the Bulldogs. Harrison Terriann was in net for the Bulldogs. In Wynyard, the Strasbourg Maroons were in their second overtime game is as many nights. On Friday evening they lost in a shootout to the Arrows and on this evening would lose in overtime as Bryan Kauk scored just forty seconds into the overtime frame. Quinn McIntosh gave the Maroons their first lead of the game with just over five minutes left in the game as he scored while the Maroons were shorthanded. Mike Kesserling would score for the Monarchs with just over a minute left when the Monarchs were shorthanded. That would be shorthanded goal number 30 in the HHL this season! Brett Leffler and Aaron Lindal would also score for the Monarchs in this game. Eric Schultz and Tanner Exner also scored for the Maroons. David Perkin would pick up the win in net for the Monarchs and Tyler Kifferling was in net for the Maroons. In Avonlea, the Arrows hung on for a 5-4 victory over the Raymore Rockets. This was the fourth win in a row for the Arrows. The Rockets winning streak of four games came to a halt. The Arrows scored four times in the second period with three of the goals coming on the power play to take a commanding 5-1 lead going into the third period. The Rockets scored three times, including twice on the power play to get within one goal but the Arrows held on to the lead for the last eleven minutes of the third period to preserve the victory. Shay Neufeld, Brendan Vanthuyne and Jared Molnar all scored on the power play for the Arrows. Stuart Holland and Kyle Mader also scored for the Arrows. Justin Mrazek picked up the win in net for Avonlea. The Rockets got power play goals from Justin Menke, Tyrell Shulko and Josh Belair. Cole Bentz also scored for the Rockets and Warren Niekamp was in net for the Rockets.



As announced at the start of the season, the Highway Hockey League will be changing the name of some Awards trophies that do not presently have a formal name or that have a name of a commercial sponsor that may no longer be sponsoring a trophy with their name on the trophy. It is my pleasure to announce that beginning this year we have three trophies that we are proud to be renaming.

Our Championship Trophy, in existence since 1966, will now be named the Robert Schultz HHL Championship Trophy. Robert was involved in many capacities with the Strasbourg Maroons, including both Coach and Manager. Our plan is to unveil this updated trophy at a Maroon game prior to the end of the season. We thank the Schultz family for their support.

Our Coach of The Year Trophy will now be named the Lynwood Miller HHL Coach of the Year Trophy. Lynwood was a longtime volunteer and booster with the Avonlea Arrows. Our plan is to unveil this updated trophy at an Arrows game prior to the end of the season. We thank the Miller family for their support.

Our Scoring Champion Trophy, in existence since 1967, will now be named the Tyson Sievert HHL Scoring Champion Trophy. Tyson played in our League with the Cupar Canucks and prior to being a Canuck he played with the Southey Marlins. This updated trophy will be introduced this Saturday evening in Cupar in a game against the Southey Marlins. We thank the Sievert family for their support.

When our 2012-2013 Awards are presented this year, we will publish more information and talk more about each individual that has their name on a Highway Hockey League trophy. We will also be announcing plans regarding the four trophies left that we plan to rename.



Subscribe to RSS - blogs