President's Update March 25th, 2013


HHL Awards Dinner

Southey Rink - Monday, April 1st


Mingle -   6-7


Dinner -   7-8


Awards  - 8-9


Tickets - $15

For information or tickets contact your local Manager or Pete Hubick 306-726-2999



Cupar Canucks 2013 HHL Champions!

Cupar Canucks 2013 Provincial Senior 'A' Champions!



The Cupar Canucks defeated the Wynyard Monarchs 7-3 Friday evening in Cupar to claim the 2013 Highway Hockey League Championship,.



President's Update - March 14th, 2013


Avonlea Arrows, Cupar Canucks, Wynyard Monarchs advance to Provincial Finals

Wynyard advances to League Final with 4-3 OT victory over Bethune Bulldogs

The Avonlea Arrows bounced back from a 3-2 overtime defeat on Saturday evening to defeat the Bethune Bulldogs 6-2 on Sunday afternoon in Bethune and win their Provincial ‘D’ semi-final two games to one. They will now play the Drake Canucks in the Provincial ‘D’ final. Update - Drake 5 Avonlea 1 game one on Friday evening and defeated Avonlea 4-1 on Sunday afternoon to claim the Provincial 'D' title.  In 2005, the Avonlea Arrows won the Provincial ’D’ title.  Drake has won the Provincial ‘D’ title seven times with the last championship coming in 1996. Drake won the Provincial ‘C’ title in 2010 and in 2005.

The Wynyard Monarchs came back from a 6-5 defeat to the Bruno T-Birds on Sunday afternoon and defeated the T-Birds 5-4 in triple overtime on Monday evening in Wynyard. Mike Kesslering scored the winner.  They Monarchs will now play their HHL counterparts, Cupar Canucks, in the Provincial ‘A’ final. The Canucks defeated the Lumsden Monarchs two games to none in their semi-final series and are now 8-1 in Provincial play heading into the final. The Wynyard Monarchs are 8-3 in Provincial play. Cupar won the 1994 Provincial ‘A’ championship and the 1995 ‘AAA’ championship. Update - Wynyard wins game one of this series with a 3-2 victory in Wynyard Sunday afternoon. Wynyard has won many Provincial titles but never a senior championship. The last HHL team to win the Provincial ‘A’ championship were the Southey Marlins in 2004 and just three years before that the Raymore Rockets won. Game one of this series is in Wynyard on Sunday afternoon at 1:30 p.m.

President's Update - March 8th, 2013

Semi-Finals in the Highway Hockey League started this past week. Cupar and Strasbourg played on Monday evening after cancelling their game on Sunday evening due to the weather conditions. Cupar scored early and often on their way to a 12-3 first game victory. Kyle Ross had three goals and in that total was another shorthanded goal, Ryan Bahan had two goals and two assists and one of his goals was scored shorthanded, Tyler Stewart had two goals (1-PPG) and Shea Van Luven had two goals. Rounding out the scoring were Jaret Eberle with a goal and three assists, Justin Bernhardt with a goal and two assists and Donovan Chow with a goal. Jamie Wutke picked up the win in net for the Canucks. Tanner Exner, Branden Sentes and Quinn McIntosh replied for the Maroons. The Canucks had seven minor penalties, a major penalty, misconduct and a game misconduct. The Maroons had four minor penalties.  The Canucks are now 13-0-0 at home in HHL games and if you add in Provincials they are 18-0-0 for season. UPDATE: Cupar wins game two 5-2.  Game three is in Cupar on Sunday at 7:30 p.m.


Subscribe to RSS - blogs